JOURNAL LOG

There are two ways of writing academic texts first is the three-part essay and the second is the IMRaD or Introduction, Methods, Results and Discussion. The three-part essay, by the name itself, has three main parts, the introduction, body and the conclusion. These three can also be called as the topic sentence, supporting details and concluding/ transitional sentences. The topic sentence introduces what the writer wants to discuss in his/her paper, this is where he/ she establishes what the paper is all about. The body is where the supporting details are found. It is considered the most important part of an essay because it analyzes the data where it is discussed thoroughly. Finally, the conclusion is where the writer summarizes all the things that was discussed related to the main idea.

The IMRaD format of writing is almost the same as the three-part essay but it is mostly used in research papers. It consist of four main parts. The Introduction, Methods, Results and the Discussion.

REFLECTION :

As I progress through my academic journey, I had to write different kinds of essays, do research in science, make articles and etc. The longer I keep doing these things makes me realize that I really need the knowledge on how to write academic texts because as the world we live in progresses, this type of writing is being more and more common nowadays. In short, I realize that we are writing for the future generation, we are practicing this so that we could write our findings and our thoughts to give to the next generation. This information is not only limited to school but we can also use it as well in the future when we have jobs especially if we choose a job from the science field where research is very prominent or other professions such as a teacher where they focus on academics itself. In writing academic texts, knowing the structure is really important since this serves as the base of everything that you want to write about. I’m really blessed that I got to learn from the best teachers in my school. Again, learning the structure of academic text is important since this we are writing for the future of society.

4 thoughts on “JOURNAL LOG

  1. Hi Albert! First of all, I would like to commend how you summarized the topic about writing an academic text. Secondly, the graph that you made is easy to understand while giving us readers’ valid information. Third, the pictures, summary, and reflection were well organized. Lastly, I would suggest making the font size bigger in the graphs, for us readers to better understand the given topic. All in all, your journal log is good and helps us readers to understand more about the topic. I hope that you keep on posting this kind of journal log. Thank you for sharing this information!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Greetings! Well, first of all, I just wanted to commend you for putting together a very well written and designed blog! The graphic organizers that you used are very well put together and can be easily understood! I love how you used bold colors as well as they make them very eye catching and pleasing to the mass! Your thoughts about this topic are organized and your ideas are very straight forward. The information that you have provided is just what i needed so i want to thank you for this! I don’t think you need to add or change anything about this. I honestly love and appreciate how you also took time to explain IMRaD and Three-part essays along with the graphic organizers! Overall, very good work and I look forward to your future blog posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello again Albert! You’ve done again an amazing job in creating this blog! The summary of the structure of academic text is informative and very easy to understand! I also liked the bold letters at the start of the paragraphs of your summary and reflection. The graphic organizers that you used for the three-part essay and the IMRaD format is outstanding and also very easy to read. It is also well organized and well design compare to the graphic organizers I’ve done. The reflection is relatable and true for the topic is very helpful to us especially in the future. I would recommend this to everyone and hope to see another blog posts!

    Like

  4. Hello there Albert! I just wrapped up reading the substance that you imparted to us and congratulations for making a well written and organized blog.
    I value the association of the thoughts that you needed us to see. I can see that you really took the time and exertion to introduce it pleasantly, very much done. I preferred how you utilized realistic coordinators on introducing the data, it is more sorted out that way. I really learned a lot because it was very informative and you have provided a lot of information about the topic. Nice job in the content and in the design of the blog. I also like your reflection and specially your graphic organizers in there. All in all, you did a great job and thanks for all the information. I hope to see more of your content in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started